Welsh Open Sporting Championship 2020

Welsh Open Sporting Championship Round-up 

The sun was shining for the Welsh Open Sporting Championship held at Dovey Valley Shooting Ground on Sunday 13th September 2020.  After a long hiatus for the ground, it was great to see it well supported with full entries, especially during such an unusual year for shooting sports.

Early on, Martin Myers set the bar high with a phenomenal 98/100 on a course featuring tricky angled targets across wooded terrain and a shallow valley.  The day saw several high scores with Tim Simmons on 92 and John Jones, Huw Stephens and Richard Hughes all tying on 91, but Scott Barnett put in an impressive 94/100 at the very end of the day to give him 2nd position overall and earn him 1st place in AA class.  However, nothing was to match Myers’ early high score and he took home the title of Welsh Open Sporting High Gun.

Welsh High Gun went to Richard Hughes on countback against Huw Stevens and John Jones in the closely fought contest.  Jacob O’Loughlin put in an impressive 89/100 to scoop Junior High Gun and 1st place in B class, demonstrating how this shooting is going from strength to strength.  Mick Harding claimed the Super Veterans High Gun with an 89.  Jerry Preece and Gary Davies were both tied at the top of the Veterans category on 89, with Jerry taking the title through countback.  Countback was also required to determine the Ladies High Gun, with Rebecca Adlam taking the title over Janine White after both finishing on scores of 83.

Please see a list of the Welsh Open category and class winners below:

Welsh Open Sporting Champion 2020

& Overall High Gun:        Martin Myers (98)


Welsh High Gun:              Richard Hughes (91)

Super-Vet High Gun:      Mick Harding (89)

Veteran High Gun:          Jerry Preece (89)

Junior High Gun:              Jacob O’Loughlin (89)

Ladies High Gun:              Rebecca Adlam (83)



1st                                           Scott Barnett (94)

2nd                                          Tim Simmons (92)

=3nd                                        John Jones

Huw Stephens

Richard Hughes (91)



1st                                           Jerry Preece (89)

2nd                                          Iwan Evans (88)

3rd                                           Owen Jones (87)



1st                                           Jacob O’Loughlin (89)

=2nd                                        Lloyd Morris

Tom Hill (85)



1st                                           Richard Manning (79)

=2nd                                        Rob Gregory

Roger Wainwright

Rob Bowden (73)