WCTSA Weekend Round Up!!

Another great weekend of shooting, with some notable results and the first Welsh Intercounties Final of the year-the Sporting-but more of that shortly.

Firstly, a big Well Shot to Iwan Mills who on Saturday shot 99/100 at Fauxdegla’s DTL Full Use of the Gun-DTL FUG and then shot 98/291 on the Sunday DTL registered there, to be the weekend’s Overall Combined Winner on 390/400!!

Congratulations Iwan!

On Monday, at Griffin Lloyd Shooting Ground, Emyr Davies shot a 90-to be High Gun and the only shooter in the 90’s!! Great shooting Emyr!

Now back to the Welsh Intercounties Sporting Final, held on Sunday at Dovey Valley Shooting Ground.

Shoot report and pictures-courtesy of Janine White-WCTSA Sporting Discipline Rep

The 2022 Sporting County Final held at Dovey Valley Shooting Ground saw Powys claim the coveted Senior Team trophy with a combined score of 641/800.  Powys extended their winning streak with the Powys veterans and super-veterans winning their team categories.  The winning colts team consisted of Owain Roberts and Catrin Jones for Gwynedd, whilst Gwent took home the winning team trophies for both the junior and ladies’ categories.


Gwent junior, John Hoare, put in an impressive score of 92/100 at the start of the day to earn him the titles of both Gwent High Gun and Junior High Gun, but Powys’s Joshua Keeble came in with an astounding 96/100 at the very end of the day to cinch the Sporting County Final High Gun trophy.  Peter Humphries wasn’t far behind with 94/100 which put him top of the Non-International Shooters’ category.


This year’s Sporting County Final had a complete overhaul from the previous format, as no county qualifying shoots were held before the final this year so that teams could be selected from the open entries on the day.


As this is the first time that a County Final has been held in this format, the WCTSA board welcomes any feedback on the event with a view of continuously working towards encouraging county shooting in the future.  Comments can be sent to the WCTSA Chairman, Rob Harrison (chairman@wctsa.co.uk) or via the General Secretary, Nicola Walker (secretary@wctsa.co.uk).


Results are as follows:


Senior Winning Team:

Powys (641/800)


Joshua Keeble               96/100

Mike Jones            87/100

Stephen Abberley         84/100

Thomas Tweedy    79/100

Robin Harding               78/100

Ben Pritchard        75/100

James Morris         72/100

Bob Morgan          70/100


Senior Team Runners-up:

Dyfed (592/800) – Iwan Evans, Daniel Rees, Matt Bodfish, Rhys Evans, William Evans, Rhodri Morgan, David Bodfish & David Adams


Colt Team Winners:

Gwynedd (92/200) – Owain Roberts & Catrin Jones


Junior Team Winners:

Gwent (163/200) – John Hoare & Rhys Powell


Ladies Team Winners:

Gwent (138/200) – Janine White & Catherine Hart


Veteran Team Winners:

Powys (169/200) – Peter Humphries & Robert Harrison


Super-Veteran Team High Gun:

Powys (145/200) – Richard James & Terence Merrick


Individual High Gun and Senior High Gun:

Josh Keeble (Powys) – 96/100


Individual Runner-up and Non-International High Gun:

Peter Humphries (Powys)  – 94/100


Colt High Gun:

Owain Roberts (Gwynedd) 63/100


Junior High Gun:

John Hoare (Gwent)             92/100


Ladies High Gun:

Janine White (Gwent)          86/100


Veteran High Gun:

Peter Humphries (Powys)    94/100


Super-Veteran High Gun:

Richard James (Powys)        77/100